This is the first ever Revelation Records release and it was also my first ever Revelation (REV) release to put into my collection. Small back-story - Rev was started by Jordan Cooper and Ray Cappo in 1987 in New York. They went on to release the who’s who of the hardcore scene at the time. Over a period of 3 years they had put out over 23 releases, including the first ever Sick of It All release, Judge – Bringing it down LP, Gorilla Biscuits – Start today lp and many more. As this was the first ever release done by Rev, not everything came out perfect. They had to get help from Kevin Seconds who ran Positive Force records and Kane from BYO records. The recording was sent to Kane at BYO records, who also worked in a pressing plant. Kane then mastered the recording and then pressed the record, he certainly pressed the record, but I’m not sure how much work went into mastering the recording!


What Counts as a whole is an absolutely relentless attack on trend-hoppers, greed, and false friends. Their messages are relayed with conviction and sincerity, as portrayed in vocalist Patrick Flynn’s gravelly voice. Although the vocals are relatively unique, Have Heart throw some interesting melodies and time changes into the mix, slightly reminiscent of Youth of Today.


this was the original misfits LAST SHOW ever, at the greystone in detroit. Download my videos for the earliest misfits video, misfits live 1978 ft. Jerry and Glenn


There's no room for interpretation here. This isn't the sound of a hardcore band bending over backwards to appeal to a new audience. These aren't a bunch of guys trying to put in a little something for everyone. There are no games being played and there are no gimmicks being sold. This is Terror doing what they do best; you either get it or you don't.


When someone says Straight Edge Hardcore, the glory days of bands like Minor Threat, and Gorilla Biscuits pop in to my head. However that statement is usually followed by someone talking about the newst metallic "Beat you face in if you don't believe what we do" hardcore band. So when one of my friends was rambling on about this band called Champion, and saying they reminded him of Youth of Today, Judge, and other punk influenced hardcore bands, I decided you check them out. After listening to one of their songs on Bridge Nine's website(The label that released "Promises Kept")I decided to pick this album up.

27 September 2010


One of the first of Trojan's 3-CD box set releases that package a good portion of their vast catalogue, the roots set has to be at the top of the heap.

Though not comprehensive (Since it's limited to Trojan's archives, artists are repeated.), this is about as good an embodiment of roots reggae as there is available. Included are well-known standards -- like Prince Far I's "Under Heavy Manners," The Silvertones' "Rejoice Jah Jah Children" (along with a clearer dub version, "African Dub"), Johnny Clarke's rocking "None Shall Escape the Judgement," Dennis Brown's classic "Africa," and Lee "Scratch" Perry's "Words" (AKA "Words of My Mouth") -- but it is the more obscure tunes that truly make this set memorable (I only wish that Trojan would've put some more effort into their liner notes so we could find out more about them.).

Where else can you find gems from unfamiliar acts like The Jay Boys, The Shadows, Truth Fact & Correct, The Sons of Selassie, Lizzard, and The Velvet Shadows? Even though you probably don't know them, believe me, their anonymity doesn't take away from the quality of their work. Although most of this music harks from the '70s, they ring like new in the ears of those many listeners who haven't previously had the privilege of experiencing them.

Disc One contains the most sure-shots -- from "Rejoice Jah Jah Children" to Cornell Campbell's "Jah Jah Me No Born Yah" to Johnny Osbourne's "Purify Your Heart" to the lesser-known "Burn Babylon" by Sylford Walker and "Brother Noah" by The Shadows, among others.

Disc 2 (the weakest of the 3) highlights include "Africa," "Under Heavy Manners," The Abyssinians' "Yim Mas Gan," and The Ethiopians' "Hail Brother Rasta Brother Hail." Disc 3 concludes the set on a high note with "Words," The Mighty Diamonds' "Ghetto Living," Delroy Wilson's classic (despite sounding like it was recorded in a well) "Adisabab," along with the more obscure duo of Lizzard and The Velvet Shadows performing "Milk and Honey" and "Babylon a Fall Down," respectively.

This is crucial stuff; a must-have for beginners and seasoned roots fans alike.


1. Cool Rasta - The Heptones
2. I a Man African - The Sons of Selassie
3. Rise in the Strength Jah - The Viceroys
4. Rise Jah Jah Children - Ras Michael & The Sons of Negus
5. I And I Are the Chosen One - New Town Sound Ltd.
6. Brother Noah - The Shadows
7. Jah Jah Bless the Dreadlocks - The Mighty Dreadlocks
8. Africa Is the Black Mans Home - Sugar Minott
9. None Shall Escape the Judgement - Johnny Clarke
10. History - Carlton Jackson
11. Purify Your Heart - Johnny Osbourne
12. Jah Jah Me No Born Yah - Cornell Campbell
13. Rasta Dreadlocks - Heaven Sisters
14. Burn Babylon - Sylford Walker
15. Psalm 68 - Horace Andy
16. Rejoice Jah Jah Children - The Silvertones
17. Dread Is Best - Big Youth


1. Under Heavy Manners - Prince Far I
2. Arise Black Man - Peter Tosh
3. Yim Mas Gan - The Abyssinians
4. Babylon Falling - The Heptones
5. Hail Brother Rasta Hail - The Ethiopians
6. Enter Into His Gates With Praise - Johnny Clarke
7. African People - The Jay Boys
8. City Too Hot - Lee Perry
9. Africa - Dennis Brown
10. Jah Fire - George Boswell
11. Dread in Babylon - Big Youth
12. Talk About It - Mighty Diamonds
13. Free Jah Jah Children - Sugar Minott
14. Blackmans Time - Neville Grant
15. Babylon Wrong - Ashanti Waugh
16. Keep Cool Babylon - Ras Michael & The Sons of Negus


1. Babylon a Fall Down - Velvet Shadows
2. Never Gonna Give Up Jah - Sugar Minott
3. Nyah Man - Johnny Osbourne
4. Unity -- Ras Michael & The Sons of Negus
5. Moving On to Zion - Johnny Clarke
6. African Dub - The Silvertones
7. The Coming of Jah - Max Romeo
8. Ten Dread Commandments - Mr. Bojangles
9. Babylon Deh Pon Fire - Truth Fact & Correct
10. Ghetto Living - The Mighty Diamonds
11. Adisabab - Delroy Wilson
12. Words - Anthony "Sangie" Davis & Lee Perry
13. Condition Bad a Yard - The Ethiopians
14. Milk and Honey - Lizzard
15. The Judgement Come - Cornell Campbell
16. Mistry Babylon - The Heptones
17. I Love Marijuana - Linval Thompson


Related Articles :


1 komentar:

Anonim mengatakan...

link is dead.

Posting Komentar





SKOINKCORE Copyright © 2010 LKart Theme is Designed by Lasantha