This is the first ever Revelation Records release and it was also my first ever Revelation (REV) release to put into my collection. Small back-story - Rev was started by Jordan Cooper and Ray Cappo in 1987 in New York. They went on to release the who’s who of the hardcore scene at the time. Over a period of 3 years they had put out over 23 releases, including the first ever Sick of It All release, Judge – Bringing it down LP, Gorilla Biscuits – Start today lp and many more. As this was the first ever release done by Rev, not everything came out perfect. They had to get help from Kevin Seconds who ran Positive Force records and Kane from BYO records. The recording was sent to Kane at BYO records, who also worked in a pressing plant. Kane then mastered the recording and then pressed the record, he certainly pressed the record, but I’m not sure how much work went into mastering the recording!


What Counts as a whole is an absolutely relentless attack on trend-hoppers, greed, and false friends. Their messages are relayed with conviction and sincerity, as portrayed in vocalist Patrick Flynn’s gravelly voice. Although the vocals are relatively unique, Have Heart throw some interesting melodies and time changes into the mix, slightly reminiscent of Youth of Today.


this was the original misfits LAST SHOW ever, at the greystone in detroit. Download my videos for the earliest misfits video, misfits live 1978 ft. Jerry and Glenn


There's no room for interpretation here. This isn't the sound of a hardcore band bending over backwards to appeal to a new audience. These aren't a bunch of guys trying to put in a little something for everyone. There are no games being played and there are no gimmicks being sold. This is Terror doing what they do best; you either get it or you don't.


When someone says Straight Edge Hardcore, the glory days of bands like Minor Threat, and Gorilla Biscuits pop in to my head. However that statement is usually followed by someone talking about the newst metallic "Beat you face in if you don't believe what we do" hardcore band. So when one of my friends was rambling on about this band called Champion, and saying they reminded him of Youth of Today, Judge, and other punk influenced hardcore bands, I decided you check them out. After listening to one of their songs on Bridge Nine's website(The label that released "Promises Kept")I decided to pick this album up.

5 Oktober 2010


Showcasing a decade of the Trojan label, from 1968-1978, the sleeve notes claim this three-CD box set is "an ideal introduction to the company's output." However, this is a rather disingenuous statement considering that a number of the label's biggest stars are missing, and there's few enduring hits to be had within. So once again, Trojan offers up a box that is not really what fans want, yet inevitably contains tracks they need, scooping up minor hits and rarities, the crucial and the disposable willy-nilly. As is all too typical, no attention is paid to sound quality, and a number of the tracks are taken off vinyl, with the Silverstars' badly scratched "Old Man Say" reaching a nadir of virtual unlistenability. For non-specialists, the points of entry are the Maytals' exuberant "54-56 That's My Number," Derrick Morgan's inspired reggae remodel of his ska classic "Fat Man," and Ken Boothe's pop-soul delight "Keep My Love From Fading." Most everything else will draw a blank, although the many names of artists and bands will convince fans to take a chance. Disc one, which covers 1968-1969, includes such small masterpieces as Clancy Eccles' devaluation classic "Bangarang Crash," the Silvertones' harmony-laden "Promises," and two excellent numbers from former Paragon vocalist Tyrone Evans. Scintillating instrumental versions are strewn across this disc and the entire box. Disc two, culling from 1970-1973, boasts a pair of soulful singles from the much underrated Joe White, two songs from the always-fabulous Jackie Edwards, and the Deltones' phenomenal cover of "I'll Take You There." By this point in time, Trojan was moving toward a much more mass-market sound, a style that both the Pioneers' offerings amply illustrate. Disc three, which encompasses the remaining five years, takes this style to its obvious conclusion. It's an acquired taste, but for those who like their reggae light and their production slick, there's a treasure trove of tracks here -- and a comedy of errors. John Holt's "Reggae From the Ghetto" is attributed to Marcia Griffiths, while Louise Mark's "Think It Like It Is" is credited to the former Paragon. Regardless, both are standouts, as is B.B. Seaton and Ken Boothe's "Whole World's Down on Me." This entire disc reverberates with sublime examples of phenomenal vocalists imbuing soul into otherwise lifeless songs. Trojan Box Set: Singles illustrates both the strengths and weaknesses of the label during this decade, and while it's far from the ultimate introduction to the company, for those who want to take a walk down a less-traveled road, the set provides an intriguing journey. ~ Jo-Ann Greene

50 great reggae tracks from the vaults of Trojan Records, the best 7 inch single tracks the label has ever released. Many of the tracks are on CD for the first time. Includes cuts by Derrick Morgan, Ken Boothe, The Maytals, John Holt and Deltones. Also features a short biography on each included artist. Each disc comes in a separate slipcase & together they come packaged in a full color brilliant box. 1999 release.

Recorded between 1968 & 1978.


Disc: 1
1. Our Love Will Last - The Jivers
2. Eastern Organ - Brothers Dan All Stars
3. Fat Man - Derrick Morgan
4. South Parkway Rock - Val Bennett
5. Old Man Say - Silverstars
6. Promises - Silverstars
7. Bangarang Crash - Clancy Eccles
8. Rahtid - Dynamites
9. If This World Were Mine - Tyrone Evans
10. You Done Me Wrong - Tyrone Evans
11. Double Shot - Beverley's All Stars
12. Banana Water - Melodians
13. Copy Cat - Derrick Morgan
14. I'll Need You Tomorrow - Kingstonians
15. Smoke Screen - Beverley's All Stars
16. Lick It Back - Clarendonians
17. Busy Bee - Beverley's All Stars

Disc: 2
1. Keep My Love From Fading - Ken Boothe
2. Eldora - Techniques All Stars
3. 54-46 That's My Number - The Maytals
4. Virgin Soldiers - Hot Rod Stars
5. I'm Gonna Get There - Joe White
6. Kinky Funky Reggae - Rupie Edwards All Stars
7. So Much Love - Joe White
8. Be Yours - Beverley's All Stars
9. Darling Please Return - The Barons
10. Take Me As I Am - Jackie Edwards
11. One Big Happy Family - Bruce Ruffin
12. Come On Girl - Jackie Edwards
13. Help Me Make It Through The Night - Joyce Bond
14. You Don't Know Like I Know - Pioneers
15. I'll Take You There - Deltones
16. At The Discotheque - Pioneers

Disc: 3
1. What About You - Pat Rhoden
2. Check Out Yourself - Cimarons
3. Reggae From The Ghetto - Marcia Griffiths
4. Whole World's Down On Me - B.B. Seaton/Ken Boothe
5. I'm Lonely No More - Teddy Brown
6. Time Is The Master - Tito Simon
7. Being In Love - Derrick Harriott
8. Help Me - Freddie McKay
9. Reverend Lee - Lorna Bennett
10. Let Go - Ken Boothe
11. Run Away Pet - Donna Hinds
12. Keep It Like It Is - John Holt
13. Why Must You Cry - Barry Biggs
14. Come Back Girl - Nicky Thomas
15. Strange Thoughts - Honey Boy
16. Pie In The Sky - Eugene Paul
17. Love Don't Love Nobody - Ken Boothe


Related Articles :


0 komentar:

Posting Komentar





SKOINKCORE Copyright © 2010 LKart Theme is Designed by Lasantha