This is the first ever Revelation Records release and it was also my first ever Revelation (REV) release to put into my collection. Small back-story - Rev was started by Jordan Cooper and Ray Cappo in 1987 in New York. They went on to release the who’s who of the hardcore scene at the time. Over a period of 3 years they had put out over 23 releases, including the first ever Sick of It All release, Judge – Bringing it down LP, Gorilla Biscuits – Start today lp and many more. As this was the first ever release done by Rev, not everything came out perfect. They had to get help from Kevin Seconds who ran Positive Force records and Kane from BYO records. The recording was sent to Kane at BYO records, who also worked in a pressing plant. Kane then mastered the recording and then pressed the record, he certainly pressed the record, but I’m not sure how much work went into mastering the recording!


What Counts as a whole is an absolutely relentless attack on trend-hoppers, greed, and false friends. Their messages are relayed with conviction and sincerity, as portrayed in vocalist Patrick Flynn’s gravelly voice. Although the vocals are relatively unique, Have Heart throw some interesting melodies and time changes into the mix, slightly reminiscent of Youth of Today.


this was the original misfits LAST SHOW ever, at the greystone in detroit. Download my videos for the earliest misfits video, misfits live 1978 ft. Jerry and Glenn


There's no room for interpretation here. This isn't the sound of a hardcore band bending over backwards to appeal to a new audience. These aren't a bunch of guys trying to put in a little something for everyone. There are no games being played and there are no gimmicks being sold. This is Terror doing what they do best; you either get it or you don't.


When someone says Straight Edge Hardcore, the glory days of bands like Minor Threat, and Gorilla Biscuits pop in to my head. However that statement is usually followed by someone talking about the newst metallic "Beat you face in if you don't believe what we do" hardcore band. So when one of my friends was rambling on about this band called Champion, and saying they reminded him of Youth of Today, Judge, and other punk influenced hardcore bands, I decided you check them out. After listening to one of their songs on Bridge Nine's website(The label that released "Promises Kept")I decided to pick this album up.

23 September 2010


If the first thing you thought of when read this band’s name was that shitty cover that Orgy did a few years, please forfeit ten scene points and hang your head in shame. Now that we’ve gotten that out the way, I can tell you about this nice album from Vancouver’s very own, Blue Monday.

Blue Monday play a style of hardcore that gives nod to the 80’s as well as more modern bands. These guys would fit in well on the Indecision Records roster. Their no nonsense style of hardcore, with slight touch of melody here and there conjures up memories of the dearly missed Count Me Out. Yes, this is another straight edge hardcore band, but you probably already guessed that. Still, the music is enjoyable, even if the lyrics don’t mesh with your own personal beliefs. This band is just what the doctor ordered if you’re looking for something angry to let off some steam.

I think that this album could have benefited from a slight upgrade in production. Not that I want everything to be slick sounding and perfect, as overproduction can rip the heart right out of a record. I just wish this recording sounded a little crisper; the guitars in particular come off sounding a bit dull. This takes some of the energy away from a band that thrives on it. I imagine that these songs would sound much better live.

Production issues aside, if you like just about any straight up hardcore band on the Indecision roster; I can’t see any for you not to enjoy Blue Monday. Interesting side note: this band’s label used to be called Stab And Kill Records. I can’t decide if that the most awesome or most hilarious record label name, perhaps it’s both. All I know is that I have a Stab And Kill sticker on my door. Change the name back, guys, come on.


01. Play It Safe
02. Vacancy
03. Number One
04. Scars My Fade
05. Mid Course Correction
06. Run You Through
07. The Rain
08. Bite The Curb
09. The Heist
10. Step Up To The Plate
11. Above And Beyond
12. We Will Be Here Forever


Related Articles :


0 komentar:

Posting Komentar





SKOINKCORE Copyright © 2010 LKart Theme is Designed by Lasantha